Math 100, Survey of Mathematics

Instructor: Pavel Guerzhoy

The class meets Tuesdays and Thursdays, 1:30 pm - 2:45 pm at Bilger Hall 152.

(if I know the answer, I usually respond to e-mail messages within a day)
NOTE: messages related to this class sent to my other e-mail addresses may be lost
Office hours: 11:30-1pm Tuesdays and Thursdays at Keller Hall 501

General Information
Selected topics designed to acquaint nonspecialists with examples of mathematical reasoning. May not be taken for credit after 215 or higher.
Gen. Ed. Focus: FS -- Foundations of Symbolic Reasoning
In this class we use the book
  • Bennett, Briggs Using and Understanding Mathematics. A quantitative reasoning approach., 6th edition, Pearson
    The book is absolutely unavoidable, and cannot be replaced with another textbook!

    Specifically, you will need access code in order to register with Pearson and do your online homework assignments which are a substantial part of the grading scheme in this class.
    As soon as you get the access code, you may use either paper or electronic version of the textbook.

    Grading Policy
    The course contains a combination of concepts, ideas and techniques which the students must be able to apply in solving specific problems.

    At the end of the day, your grade will reflect your ability to solve specific problems. The following rules are to be taken.

  • Final exam will count for 15% of the final grade. The contents of the exam are quite close to review for final. The format of the exam will be similar to that of the midterms.
    The exam takes place on Thursday, Dec 14, 12:00 -- 2:00pm.
    Students missing the final test automatically receive a grade of F for the class.

  • Thirteen homework assignments count together for 40% of the final grade.
  • Three midterm tests count together for 45% of the final grade (15% every one).


    Worksheets in the last column of the table are absolutely optional. Interested students may use these worksheets study additional material. However, no credit whatsoever will be given for that.

    Date Class material Alternative Lecture Homework Available Homework Due worksheet
    Tue, 22 Aug Intro hw_0 generalities and instructions
    Thu, 24 Aug Section 3A Section 3A, Section 3A hw_3A percentage
    Tue, 29 Aug Section 3A, exercises hw_0
    Thu, 31 Aug Section 3B Section 3B hw_3B hw_3A perspective
    Tue, 5 Sep Section 3B, exercises
    Thu, 7 Sep Section 3C Section 3C hw_3C hw_3B uncertainty
    Tue, 12 Sep Section 3C, exercises
    Thu, 14 Sep Section 3E Section 3E hw_3E hw_3C Simpson's paradox
    Tue, 19 Sep Section 3E, exercises
    Thu, 21 Sep review for midterm #1 hw_3E
    Tue, 26 Sep midterm #1
    Thu, 28 Sep Section 4B Section 4B hw_4B compounding
    Tue, 3 Oct Section 4B, exercises
    Thu, 5 Oct Section 4C Section 4C hw_4C_1 hw_4B saving plans/investments
    Tue, 10 Oct Section 4C, exercises
    Thu, 12 Oct Section 4C, continuation Section 4C hw_4C_2 hw_4C_1 stocks
    Tue, 17 Oct Section 4C, continuation, exercises
    Thu, 19 Oct Section 4D with exercises Section 4D hw_4D hw_4C_2 loan payment
    Tue, 24 Oct review for midterm #2
    Thu, 26 Oct midterm #2 hw_4D
    Tue, 31 Oct Section 8A Section 8A hw_8A exponential growth
    Thu, 2 Nov Section 8A, exercises
    Tue 7 Nov Section 8B Section 8B hw_8B hw_8A doubling time
    Thu, 9 Nov Section 8B, exercises
    Tue, 14 Nov review for midterm #3 hw_8B
    Thu, 16 Nov midterm #3
    Tue, 21 Nov Sections 9A and 9B Section 9A hw_9AB linear modeling
    Tue, 28 Nov Sections 9A and 9B, exercises Section 9B
    Thu, 30 Nov Section 9C Section 9C hw_9C exponentials
    Tue, 5 Dec Section 9C, exercises hw_9AB
    Thu, 7 Dec review for final hw_9C