Math 321: Introduction to Advanced Mathematics
    Fall 2011



Professor: Xander Faber



Course Syllabus: Please read the syllabus carefully. It contains many useful pieces of information about the course, including dates of the exams and the homework policy.



Announcements:

Homework:

Assignment Due Date Corrections Due
HW1 -- Finalized Friday, September 2 Friday, September 23
HW2 -- Finalized Monday, September 19 Monday, October 17
HW3 -- Finalized Monday, October 3 Monday, October 24
HW4 -- Finalized
HW4.tex
Monday, October 31 Monday, November 21
HW5 -- Finalized
HW5.tex
Wednesday, November 16 Monday, November 28
HW6 -- Finalized
HW6.tex
Monday, December 5 None Due

In the homework I return, you will notice several different kinds of notations. I have given detailed explanations of mathematical errors. For all other sorts of errors, use the following legend:

Reading:

Unless otherwise specified, all reading assignments are from the course text Introduction to Advanced Mathematics by M.E. Watkins and J.L. Meyer

Reading Assignment For class on this date Reading Assignment For class on this date
Preface Mon 8.22 Chapter 3.1 Wed 10.12
Chapters 1.1 & 1.2 Wed 8.24 Chapter 3.1 Fri 10.14
Chapter 1.3 Fri 8.26 Chapter 3.2/3.3 Mon 10.17
Chapter 1.4 Mon 8.29 Chapter 3.4 Wed 10.19
Chapter 1.5 Wed 8.31 Chapter 3.5 Fri 10.21
Chapter 1.6 Fri 9.2 Chapter 5.1/6.6 Mon 10.24
. Wed 9.7 Chapter 5.3 Wed 10.26
Chapters 2.1-2.3 Fri 9.9 Chapter 5.4 Fri 10.28
Chapter 2.4-2.5 Mon 9.12 Chapter 5.5 Mon 10.31
Chapter 2.5-2.6 Wed 9.14 Chapter 5.5 Wed 11.2
Chapter 8.2 Fri 9.16 Chapter 6.1 Fri 11.4
Chapter 8.2 Mon 9.19 Review of Functions Mon 11.7
Chapter 8.2 Wed 9.21 Chapter 6.1 Wed 11.9
Chapter 8.2 Fri 9.23 No class (Veteran's Day) Fri 11.11
Chapter 4.1 & 4.2 Mon 9.26 Chapter 6.1 Mon 11.14
Chapter 4.2 Wed 9.28 Chapter 6.2 Wed 11.16
Chapter 4.3 Fri 9.30 Chapter 6.2 Fri 11.18
Chapter 4.4 Mon 10.3 Chapter 6.3 Mon 11.21
Chapter 4.4 Wed 10.5 Chapter 7.1 Wed 11.23
Midterm Review Fri 10.7 No Class (Thanksgiving) Fri 11.25
Midterm Exam Mon 10.10 Chapter 7.2 Mon 11.28
. . Chapter 7.3 Wed 11.30
. . Chapter 7.4 Fri 12.2
. . Public Key Cryptography Mon 12.5
. . Public Key Cryptography Wed 12.7